Air Supply


Air Supply

Air Supply is an Australian group based around the duo of Graham Russell (the main songwriter) and Russell Hitchcock. The group's light pop-rock hits have earned Air Supply several platinum LPs and gold singles worldwide; Greatest Hits was quadruple platinum in the U.S., and The Earth Is, which failed to chart here, went gold in over 20 countries.

The group originally consisted of lead vocalists Hitchcock and Graham backed by studio musicians. As such, they had several hit singles in Australia, including "Love and Other Bruises" (1976), "Empty Pages" and "Do What You Do" (both 1977), and two gold albums. After forming a band to record their third LP, they came up with one of the U.S.'s biggest hits in 1979, "Lost in Love," (#3, 1979). A string of Top 10 hits followed: "Every Woman in the World" (#5, 1980), "The One That You Love" (#1, 1981), "Even the Nights Are Better" (#6, 1982), and "Making Love Out of Nothing at All" (#2, 1983). To date, the group has sold over 15 million records worldwide.

The group first disbanded in 1988, but Russell and Hitchcock re-formed Air Supply in 1991, including only Cooper from the old lineup. The pair has continued to tour with various backing configurations.

This biography originally appeared in The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll (Simon & Schuster, 2001).

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.