Art Dealer Chic Vol. 1 and Vol. 2

  • Art Dealer Chic Vol. 1 and Vol. 2
  • Miguel
  • RCA

Is Miguel an arty infiltrator of the mainstream, or a pop dude slumming underground? It's unclear – but the music is undeniable. His new EPs strike a delicious balance between pro forma R&B seduction and the Weeknd's psychedelic bedroom jams. "Adorn" and "Arch n Point" are eerily beautiful, with Miguel's falsetto shimmering over spare, spacey beats. Vol. 2 is marred by the misogynistic "Broads," but mostly Miguel is – like his obvious model, Prince – chivalrous and weird, a gallant with a freaky side.

Listen to "Adorn":

Photos: Random Notes

From The Archives Issue 1156: May 10, 2012