Fourth 'Hunger Games' Film Now Official

Trilogy will become four movies, with final book split in two

Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen in 'The Hunger Games'
Murray Close/Lionsgate
July 11, 2012 10:05 AM ET

Lionsgate has announced that the Hunger Games book trilogy will expand to four films, with the final book to be split into two movies. Part 1 of The Hunger Games: Mockingjay is scheduled to be released in November 2014, with Part 2 to follow in November 2015.

The film adaptation of the second Hunger Games book, Catching Fire, is set for a November 22nd, 2013 release with filming to begin this fall. Earlier this week, Philip Seymour Hoffman officially joined the cast of Catching Fire as new Gamekeeper Plutarch Heavensbee.

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Movies Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.